Ag2Nut Nigeria, ANH Academy and HORTSON Webinar: The role of horticulture during COVID-19

Date and Time: 

Thursday, August 20, 2020 - 14:00 to 15:00

Location: 

Virtual - time indicated in London time

 


Recording:


Speakers: Shirley Isibhakhomen Ejoh, H.A. Akintoye and Caleb Ibukun 

Date: Thursday 20 August 2020

Time: 09:00 New York / 13:00 Accra / 14:00 Lagos / 15:00 Rome / 16:00 Addis / 18:30 Delhi / 20:00 Jakarta / 21:00 Beijing


Evidence shows horticulture can foster food security, particularly in urban settings where access to healthy options is limited but needed to ensure adequate nutrition and prevent non-communicable diseases.  Foods such as fruits, vegetables and spices play a key role in the health and wellbeing of families and communities. The COVID-19 pandemic is putting diets and food security are in jeopardy around the world, with markets, affordability and access to healthy and acceptable options out of reach for many. This webinar will focus on the nutritional and food security role of horticulture in communities during this exceptional time, with presentations from Dr. H. A. Akintoye on fruits, Caleb Ibukun Olanipekun on vegetables and Shirley Isibhakhomen Ejoh on spices.
 

This webinar is hosted in collaboration with Ag2Nut Nigeria and Horticultural Society of Nigeria.

Note: To access this webinar, you will need to register and be logged in to your Zoom account. If you don't have a Zoom account, you can create one here for free.

Join the conversation on social media

Share quotes from the speakers, reflections, screenshots and more on social media. Use these hashtags and handles on Twitter:

Format

The webinar will last 60 minutes, including a presentation and discussion session.

Resources


 

Speakers

Shirley Isibhakhomen Ejoh, University of Ibadan

 

H.A. Akintoye, National Horticultural Research Institute (NIHORT)

Caleb Olanipekun, World Vegetable Center

Moderator

Anna Herforth, Ag2Nut