Ag2Nut/ANH Academy Webinar: The cost and affordability of nutritious diets globally

Date and Time: 

Thursday, July 23, 2020 - 15:00 to 16:00

Location: 

Virtual - time indicated in London time


Recording


Webinar #1 in the Webinar Miniseries on the SOFI 2020 Report

Part 1 | Part 2

Speakers: Anna Herforth, Yan Bai, Will Masters and Saskia de Pee

Date: Thursday 23 July 2020

Time: 10:00 New York / 14:00 Accra / 15:00 London / 16:00 Rome / 17:00 Addis / 19:30 Delhi / 21:00 Jakarta / 22:00 Beijing


The UN State of Food Security and Nutrition in the World, the annual flagship publication of FAO, IFAD, UNICEF, WFP, and WHO, reports statistics on undernourishment and food access. For the first time, the 2020 report focuses on access to healthy diets. In this webinar, we will get an in-depth look at the report's stark message that 3 billion people cannot afford the least cost forms of recommended diets. Our speakers, who did the analysis to produce that figure, will explain the methods and results, and which types of foods are most expensive and where. We will hear additional insights on WFP work at country level on these issues, and what is driving the cost of nutritious diets.
 
Join us for a discussion about the implications of these findings: what can be done so that agriculture and food systems improve affordability of healthy diets? We need all hands on deck from our Ag2Nut and ANH Academy communities!
 
Note: To access this webinar, you will need to register and be logged in to your Zoom account. If you don't have a Zoom account, you can create one here for free.

Join the conversation on social media

Share quotes from the speakers, reflections, screenshots and more on social media. Use these hashtags and handles on Twitter:

Resources

Format

The webinar will last 60 minutes, including a presentation and discussion session.


 

Anna Herforth, Ag2Nut

Yan Bai, Tufts University

Will Masters, Tufts University

Saskia de Pee, World Food Programme