Panel 1: Basic drivers of acute malnutrition: environment and seasonality

Date and Time: 

Thursday, October 22, 2020 - 14:30 to 16:00

Location: 

Zoom. Register here: https://bit.ly/3kGX5d9

Technical series on the conceptual framework for addressing acute malnutrition in Africa’s drylands

Childhood wasting is an increasing global public health problem and studies have shown that emergency rates of global acute malnutrition persist in the longer-term in some dryland contexts—even in the absence of an obvious emergency and despite ongoing packages of essential nutrition interventions. FAO and Tufts are co-hosting this technical series to review the basic drivers of malnutrition in Africa’s drylands and discuss an adapted conceptual framework for addressing acute malnutrition in Africa’s drylands. Visit the series website (https://sites.tufts.edu/malnutritionframework/) for background on the series, welcome videos, details about each panel, and opportunities to get involved. We encourage you to attend all of the events in the series. You must register for each event separately. The events will be in English with simultaneous translation to French. This first panel is on October 22 at 8:30AM EDT, 2:30PM CEST, 3:30PM EAT Register here https://bit.ly/3kGX5d9

Speaker: 

  • Hon. Mohamed Elmi, Kenya Ministry of Environment and Forestry
  • Saverio Krätli, International Union of Anthropological and Ethnological Studies
  • Anastasia Marshak, Feinstein International Center, Tufts University
  • Elena Naumova, Friedman School of Nutrition, Tufts University Hussein Sulieman, University of Gadarif, Sudan