Panel 2: Basic drivers of acute malnutrition: systems and institutions

Date and Time: 

Thursday, October 29, 2020 - 14:30 to 16:00

Location: 

Zoom. Register here https://bit.ly/3kACV4I

Technical series on the conceptual framework for addressing acute malnutrition in Africa’s drylands

Childhood wasting is an increasing global public health problem and studies have shown that emergency rates of global acute malnutrition persist in the longer-term in some dryland contexts—even in the absence of an obvious emergency and despite ongoing packages of essential nutrition interventions. FAO and Tufts are co-hosting this technical series to review the basic drivers of malnutrition in Africa’s drylands and discuss an adapted conceptual framework for addressing acute malnutrition in Africa’s drylands.

Visit the series website (https://sites.tufts.edu/malnutritionframework/) for background on the series, welcome videos, details about each panel, and opportunities to get involved. We encourage you to attend all of the events in the series. You must register for each event separately. The events will be in English with simultaneous translation to French.

This second panel is on October 29 at 9:30AM EDT, 2:30PM CET, 4:30PM EAT

Register here: https://bit.ly/3kACV4I

Speaker: 

  • Nancy Aburto, Food and Nutrition Division, FAO
  • Mary Allen, Senior Expert Resilience and Livelihoods, West Africa
  • Susanne Jaspars, Food Studies Centre, SOAS University of London
  • Luka Kuol, Africa Center for Strategic Studies, National Defense University
  • Sunya Orre, Director of Technical Services NDMA, Kenya