Panel 3: Basic drivers of acute malnutrition: dryland livelihood systems, vulnerability, resilience and shocks

Date and Time: 

Thursday, November 5, 2020 - 14:30 to 16:00

Location: 

Zoom. Register here https://bit.ly/3mJhPDd

Technical series on the conceptual framework for addressing acute malnutrition in Africa’s drylands

Childhood wasting is an increasing global public health problem and studies have shown that emergency rates of global acute malnutrition persist in the longer-term in some dryland contexts—even in the absence of an obvious emergency and despite ongoing packages of essential nutrition interventions. FAO and Tufts are co-hosting this technical series to review the basic drivers of malnutrition in Africa’s drylands and discuss an adapted conceptual framework for addressing acute malnutrition in Africa’s drylands. This panel will review the unique characteristics of livelihood systems adapted to Africa’s drylands and their implications for nutrition. Explore how worsening conditions linked to protracted conflict, climate and other shocks have undermined livelihood resilience and in turn contributed to acute malnutrition. This is the third of four events of the Online Technical Series on the Conceptual Framework for Addressing Acute Malnutrition in Africa’s Drylands. Visit the series website (https://sites.tufts.edu/malnutritionframework/) for background on the series, welcome videos, details about each panel, and opportunities to get involved. We encourage you to attend all of the events in the series. You must register for each event separately. The events will be in English with simultaneous translation to French. This third panel is on November 5 at 8:30AM EST, 2:30PM CET, 4:30PM EAT Register here (https://bit.ly/3mJhPDd).

Speaker: 

Mariame Dem, WaterAid Chris Jost, USAID, Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance Thumbi Mwangi, Washington State University Moctar Sacande, FAO Helen Young, Feinstein International Center, Tufts University